Uncategorized

My First Nerd Box!

Geek Fuel, June 2015

As this was my first ever subscription box, I had no idea what I was getting myself into! I’ve seen plenty of reviews of these things in the past, but having received my first box today, I can honestly say the experience of actually getting these items gives them a whole new value!

image


(Aside from the mailbox damage, the box looks great! Simple and clean design!)

After a long debate on which box to start with, I chose the relatively new Geek Fuel. The promise of a monthly unique shirt has become a bit of a mainstay, but Geek Fuel ups their game by promising no less than $40 in value per box. For those interested in the financial breakdown, I’ll do a tally at the end.

image

The presentation in this box is phenomenal! Everything from the simple RoboDude to the order in which the box is packed shows the love and care that goes into the product! Aside from the mailbox damaging the box a little, it was picture-esque. Throughout this review, I’ll show the items as they appeared in the box. I’m truly impressed by the care that went into it.

image

The motto and mascot go hand in hand beautifully. I love how it is RoboDude carrying the flag with his own face! The scarlet and grey logo paper makes it feel very gift-y (and gets bonus points for being my school colors!). Let your geek flag fly!

Items included in this box:
1 The Truth Is Out there Tee-shirt
2 Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton
3 The Lost World by Michael Chrichton
4 Super Win the Game download code + Keychain
5 Mortal Kombat Bookmark
6 Power Rangers Magnet
7 90’s Mutant Hero Ooze
8 Box Details Card
9 Geek Fuel Mini-Mag
10 *Sign-up Bonus: Poster of Awesome

The Truth Is Out There Tee

image

The photographs don’t do the artwork justice.  This classy throwback takes the near-mascot Alien of X-Files and mixes him with Da Vinci’s Vitruvian Man.  The text reads the series’ classic “I want to believe” in many different languages. To be honest, the level of detail in the screen printing is extremely impressive. Props to the artist!  50/50 Cotton-Polyester blend.

image

image

One of many future work shirts

Geek Fuel Mini Mag

image

This thing is super tight. It’s a 20-page mini mag with articles written by the Geek Fuel team about things related to the items in the box (and geekiness in general). This month I particularly enjoyed the DCC coverage.

image

One of the stories covered inside

These geek cards are also a nice touch. It’s another common trend in subscription boxes, but I particularly like the streamlined feel of this one. It’s not cluttered or overly active. This card tells you everything you have and looks nice.

image

image

Jurassic Park+ The Lost World

image

This is the classic novel that spawned a classic (And several not-so-classic) movies. It comes in at the perfect time, riding the coattails of the new movie. I’ve always wanted to read these books, but my list is huge and I never made it to purchasing them. Now that I have them, these two books just became my next read!

image

Super Win the Game + Key charm

image

One of the best things about Geek Fuel is that they guarantee a game download and related item (so far, all steam games).  I’m not the biggest gamer, but I’m a huge supporter of indie developers and I love variety and low-investment games. The game trailer shows a retro (8-Bit) platformer with various references to other games. I’m actually much more excited to play it after watching the trailer. This looks like a challenging throwback!

image

It's not an RPG unless you get a boss key

Update: it’s a retro RPG platformer taking the best elements of 8bit-Era games and throwing them in a blender of amazing level design. Definitely adds to the value of the box!

Mortal Kombat Bookmark

Some would talk trash on such a simple trinket. As a book lover, I’m a bent corner hater! Beyond that, it’s a pretty decent thickness of cardstock, laminated, and it has some of the most adorable versions of Scorpion and Sub-Zero I’ve seen!

image

Reminders if Ninja badassery

Power Rangers Magnet

image

This is a simple fridge magnet. I like trinkets and such so it’s going to be well-used. Each Ranger has a rarity value (adding to the collectible fun of Geek Fuel exclusives!). The Red Ranger is the most common with eight boxes per ten containing one. One box per hundred contains the most elusive Yellow Ranger!

90’s Mutant Hero Ooze!

image

No, that's not Ivan's Ooze.

It’s the Green Gunk that turned turtles into ninjas.  The viscosity it pretty accurate to what I imagine when I think of the blob (which is also an ooze).  Not much else to say about this, but the color and the texture are solid. It’s high quality goop.

**Bonus Poster!**

image

image

I got this through a link the company sent me when I signed up without signing up for a box.  It’s a Domo Kun Banner made of high-quality poster stuff.  Five Hundred of these were printed and I have one!

This Box is great for: Kiddults

image

The Tally*:
T-Shirt – these range in value, but similar blends and prints go for $8-15 dollars depending on the retailer. I’d gladly pay $15-20 if I saw this shirt on the retail shelves (which is currently impossible).
Jurassic Park – New for $4.99 is the lowest price I found on Google ShoppingThe Lost World – new for $8.99 is the lowest price I found on Google Shopping
Super Win the Game – the redeemable code with the promotional key says $10. Pretty standard price for this kind of thing.
Mortal Kombat Bookmark – Most of the independently made laminate bookmarks I’ve found run $2 on Etsy.
Power Rangers Magnet – Fridge magnets of this style are another $2 trinket on Etsy.
90’s Mutant Hero Ooze – The official Ninja Turtles Mutagen Ooze costs $6.27 on Google Shopping.
$23.70 with shipping for the box. $42.27 in value excluding the poster AND costing the shirt at 8 dollars (which is most likely under costed).

*I’ve excluded the values of the detail card and magazine as they don’t come with “sale value” as it were. I’ve also excluded the poster price since it does not come with every box.

The Verdict:
Although I’ve read a lot of reviews and watched a lot of unboxings, I’ve never actually gotten a subscription box for myself before! I honestly read some spoilers of this box before opening and was not too excited. Having the box in hand, though, made me realize the quality of the custom products, and I think the layout itself was fantastic. Everything was neat and orderly and the mascot and motto are both true signs of real geeks running the show. It was clear that the box was hand packed and treated well. I think the company has a great future ahead and I look forward to my next box!

Standard

Leave a Reply

